Friends, friends and family

While John and Dave were exploring in the south of England, I flew to Inverness and started a two week holiday which finished back in London. It was prompted by finding out earlier in the year that my good friends Annie and Gideon, who live in Arusha, Tanzania, were to be in Scotland in June and July and so I decided that I would arrange a visit around this period in order to see them but also to meet up with other friends and family. The trip was more wonderful than I could possibly had hoped, mainly due to the efforts of a number of people who I was keen to see.

I could not use my camera because it had a developed a fault and so the pictures below are from my phone. It is still is a bit of a mystery to me and I found I was less enthusiastic about taking pictures than I usually am. On the positive side, being in the UK for two weeks was enough time to get the camera mended and it is now back in my possession.

My friends, Kate and Annie, met me at the airport on a night described by a man sitting beside me as ‘dreich’. It was really not a night to be out but Kate and Dod live in Cummingston on the Moray Firth which is maybe some 50 minutes from Inverness airport and there was no alternative way to get there. We arrived safely and after two gin and tonics, I was happy to be there!

Kate and Dod’s house is one of my favourite places.

It is a wonderfully, spacious comfortable house with many things being grown outside, including some very nice looking grapes,

it has fantastic views of the Moray Firth,

and you can see the changes in the weather and dolphins, if you are lucky.  The only down side is that it can be pretty grey at times!

Annie had suggested to Kate that she might like to invite a few friends there, while we were there which would save us having to go and see them! Kate is a wonderful organiser, took the task very seriously and 75 people turned up two days later for a party. Given the scale of the operation, Kate looks remarkably relaxed here!

What a treat the day was! There was fantastic amounts of food, including wonderful smoked salmon, and drink and plenty of space to talk. People came from throughout Scotland, most of whom I knew from the variety of jobs, I had. It was just a joy to gossip abut the past, find what had happened in the meantime and discuss the wonderful opportunities retirement gives us.

The best moment came in the middle of the afternoon. I met Annie and Kate in 1976 as we were attending a post graduate course in Youth and Community Work at Aberdeen College of Education. Six women attended – myself, Kate, Annie, Claire, Mary and Diane on that course (plus some men!)  At this party, all the women were there. It was a highly emotional moment when Claire arrived at the party and we realised that we were all present. Not only that, one of our lecturers, Ian, came and we were just all so happy!

Fortunately there was great music in the evening, otherwise I think I might have had a serious sore throat from talking! Thanks to Stewart, Davy, Claire, Jake for this.

A huge thank you to Kate and Dod who planned and organised this, with the help of Annie and Gid. It was fantastic. The next day, there was still a large group of people around for breakfast who had stayed in various hotels, bed and breakfasts and even a tent (the weather was still a bit ‘iffy’). A group of us set off for nearby Burghead by the beach and enjoyed a good walk.

I stayed for another couple of days and enjoyed a visit to Anne and Alan, who used to live near us in Strachan but now live in a lovely house near Elgin. I had not seen them for some years and communication has been limited to some Christmas cards and the odd email. So there was much to catch up on, including our childrens progress in life, what I did in Crete (now that is a bit challenging!), their huge dog etc

while I ate a lovely dinner.

Kate, Annie and Gid and I had a day out to Logie Steadings, where there are wonderful gardens.

Everything is so green!

I took the train to Inverness and then to Dunkeld where I was met by Maggie and Andrew. Maggie and I have been friends forever and she organised a lovely walk

which involved lochs, trees, spectacular views of the river as well as sunshine and a tasty picnic and a bit of sunbathing.

When we got back to their house, I had a very nice time picking strawberries and rasperries

and then ate a number of vegetables from the garden. Andrew has a great selection of very delicious red wines and I was touched that he had selected a bottle of Skillogalee which comes from a vineyard in Australia and was the name of our canal boat.

And Andy Murray won too, while I was there!

I travelled onto Aberdeen,  where I was met by Gillie, who was my neighbour, when we lived in Aberdeenshire. She and her husband, Alan, have been living abroad for some years (John and i visited them in Shanghai last year) but Gillie has now retired and for the time being they are living in a lovely cottage in Birse, near Aboyne, so quiet and peaceful Everybody knows I like walking and we set off from their house,

straight into idyllic countryside

and this brought back many happy memories. I walked in the rain to have a quick look at Deeside Community Centre where I worked for 4 busy years and then onto to chat with Evelyne, who was a colleague at times over the years and a great friend. She and I can talk forever but I took a moment off to take a picture of her and her garden.

The garden is not large but it is full of beautiful flowers which will win prizes in the forthcoming flower shows.

Gillie and Alan drove me back to Aberdeen railway station, past our old house. The sun was shining and the countryside very beautiful. After 4 hours in the train, I was met at Newcastle station by Janet, who was my manager when I worked at the University of Aberdeen. She drove me to Stocksfield where she lives and I found myself sitting outside in her garden in the sunshine. The house and the garden were delightful. And StocksfieId has some wonderful trees.

I did not know this part of the country well and so it was really nice that Janet and her husband, Mark, took me to see Hadrian’s Wall

and Hexham Abbey.  I enjoyed meeting their daughter after so many years and I am keen to return to this part of the world. The Sage Concert Hall sounded particularly interesting!

Then onto London, to stay with Graham for a couple of days. I arrived in London wearing two fleeces and thought I was going to pass out as the temperature was considerably hotter there. Graham and I enjoyed a couple of evenings eating and drinking in nice places, although the cost of wine was a bit astonishing for me, being used to a μισό κιλό κρασί for 3 euros! I walked past the Arsenal football ground the next day

to visit Tom and Sheila who I knew from cycling days in London in the 1970’s. Tom produced a delicious soup which had a lot of pumpkin, chick peas and spices in it. It was delicious and I felt that I needed to get the recipe as there is a huge pumpkin in Crete waiting for something to happen to it.

The last day was spent in Cambridge with Lis. She and I met in St Thomas’s hospital in 1983 and we gave birth to sons on the same day. She lives in Norwich but we decided to have a day out in Cambridge which was very nice. We didn’t visit any colleges because we would have had to pay but instead had a nice lunch in the Fitzwilliam Museum

and sat in a park. We were really more interested in our own news than being tourists!

Finally, I met up with John and James in Battersea, went to a very nice and reasonable Italian restaurant there, talked about Battersea becoming Labour again after all these years and finally on the last morning, I went to Clapham Junction and bought a new pair of trainers. Then off to Gatwick with John and looking for a quiet time when I got back home in Kavousi.

A great trip!!!!

Sheila

One thought on “Friends, friends and family

  1. Nancy Barnett

    Enjoyed reading about your reunion with all these amazing friends. Have to look up that Australian wine. also how to pronounce dreich. I think it’s a little dreichy around here lately but warmer…..

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

